Who’s your daddy?


Have you ever gone to a restaurant, looked at the menu, ordered something but when you got it you realized you actually wanted what the person sitting next to you ordered?

Don’t you just wish you always new what you really wanted?

Read Romans 8:15-16

Question Are all people God’s children? (vs 15) What happens when we receive the Holy Spirit? (vs 15) Think of a few differences between the way a father treats a slave compared to a son (or daughter)? Why is it that “the Spirit testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children”? (vs 16)

Food for thought The guy who wrote this was true class! He came from the right family, had the right connections, had the right education (Philippians 3:4-6). He had everything he thought he wanted. Until he met Jesus. After Jesus found him, it seems he found what he had really wanted; his heavenly Father.

Christians are sons and daughters of God. Good dad’s provide and love. You can open the fridge at home and eat the food he bought anytime. You don’t have to ask. You can even be naughty and steal the car and he will eventually forgive you. If your dad is sporty guy, then most likely you are sporty. If your dad supports the All Blacks then you probably also will make the same mistake☺ In the same way Christians act, talk, walk and are who they are because of who their Father is.

For the longest time I was confused about the deepest desire in my heart. I thought it was having a girlfriend, then popularity, then came alcohol & drugs, then a desire for fame, along with parties, then I went through a good phase and wanted success & good grades, acceptance, respect, there was also a big muscles gym phase (never really worked for me). But like the guy who wrote that verse I too feel like “whatever gain I had I counted as loss for the sake of Christ” (Philippians 3:7). What’s in your heart? If you are a child of God, are you living in a way that makes your Father proud? If you want God to be your Father then pray this prayer with a Christian friend today;

Heavenly Father

thank you for sending Jesus to die in my place for my sin

I confess that I am guilty of chasing imitation dreams and desires 

I have rebelled against you in ignorance and in sin

But today I accept Jesus as my Lord and my Saviour

I want to be your child I want you to be my Father

Please send your Holy Spirit into my heart now and remind me who I am

One thought on “Who’s your daddy?

Leave a Reply

