Real Men…Sacrifice


“Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her” Ephesians 5:25

Single guys need to prepare themselves to not only look after ‘me’ but also attend to the needs of others. For some reason we just don’t tell this to single guys. But what better way to develop self sacrifice than by serving God whole heartedly while you are single? It doesn’t develop over night.

Real men have developed an increased capacity. They are able to look after themselves and their families. I realized this about my own dad when I was doing my final year of Engineering. I had never worked so hard in my life. Waking early to get to the lab and work on my project. Staying late, to finish my write up.

Then one morning as the morning sun started filling my room, I looked across the hallway and saw my dad dressed and ready for work. I was going flat out, he was doing what he had always done for our family. Up before anyone else, working harder than anyone else, and he did this year in and year out.

A sacrifice is not a sacrifice unless it’s a sacrifice. That’s what my Pastor used to tell me. It’s the meaning of this verse. Jesus put the well being of the church before his own. He gave himself for her. He died in my place for my sin. He atoned and sacrificed for my shortcomings. Real men get this. At times we are called to man up, put aside our own well being for the sake of others.

Leave a Reply

